I have a sewing machine!

Praise be!

To be honest, I have had a sewing machine in my loft at home since before Christmas, but it was languishing there unused, unloved, as I was unable to make it work.

Thankfully, my mother’s student is a sewing machine guru and had a look at it for me the other week, and it is working! Well. It was working. My dad had to give it a bit of a jiggle around and oil it some, as it was jamming. I haven’t tried it since, so I am unaware as to whether it is running smoothly, but I can always hope!

It is a Toyota model, so if anyone owns one, I will be in your debt forever if you gave me any tips etc. They would  be most appreciated I can tell you!

Anyway, I did some sewing on my machine before it gave up; I started making a Sorbetto top! I am very excited to announce that I have tried again at a Colette pattern, as that was one of my sewing goals (and four months into the year, I fear I have not accomplished many of them.. oops!)

2015-03-27 09.47.29I cut a straight six (Only because when I got the pattern out of the plastic wallet I had put it in at Christmas, that was what it was cut out as. I haven’t a clue if that is my size, but I am too lazy to check trust past Rhiannon’s judgement.

2015-03-27 10.12.25

Excuse the unironed fabric; it is some sort of bedding I think; there are cushions in my sister’s room which look suspiciously similar to this top.

I managed to machine sew the arm holes together before it gave up on me; I think the pleat stressed it out too much. I am actually quite unsure as to how I should go about sewing it down. I will probably do it by hand; yes it is slower, however I have so much more control over what I am doing!

Anywho, this is a bit of a boring post; I just wanted to update everyone on the fact that I now have a sewing machine! (Which is exciting stuff for me, if not everyone else!)

Have a happy week!

7 thoughts on “I have a sewing machine!

  1. I’m confused about what you mean when you say sewing the pleat down. Do you mean around the neckline and hem? That’ll be nice to do by hand. Especially the bias binding around the neckline.

    Like

      • Haha that would help! It’s been a while since I made one but I think you just make the pleat which it looks like you have already, press it well and that’s it! Just baste in place at the top and bottom then it’ll be secured with the hem and neckline. You will wash it and it’ll still remain pleated 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

