Future Projects!

I have not been sewing any clothes for a while now, and I would really like to get back into it. However, I am worried that this will prove the perfect distraction from all the assignments I need to do before the end of March (all three of them). I am also slightly worried that I will not be able to complete my Vintage sewing pledge of sewing up two of my vintage patterns.

So in an effort to publicly shame myself into actually realising my sewing goals for this year, I thought I would share with you the projects I want to make! (I will probably regret this)

The first project is not vintage, however it is a birthday present which needs to be sent of asap.

2015-01-21 13.39.05

This is going to be a pouch for my Nana. I haven’t yet decided what ribbon to use to decorate the top of the pouch, not have I figured out how to make the sewing pretty as it will be seen through the transparent vinyl.. We will see!

The first of my vintage patterns is the one I am most excited for, but the one that will probably take me the longest.

2015-01-21 12.43.30

You may recognise the pattern as I bought it not long ago. The material, zip and trim I won in a competition, and I hope that it will all go together. I want to try a peter pan collar, but not sure what material to use, and not sure about sleeves or no sleeves… Fingers crossed this will not look awful, as it really is lovely fabric!

2015-01-21 13.04.35

The piece of clothing that will probably be done first is this tunic. I think the pattern counts as vintage, but I will have to check! The fabric comes from John Lewis in the sale, and looks quite Cath Kidston-y, don’t you think? I want to make view 4, which is the lady in the middle’s tunic, because I like to wear leggings, but always run out of tops to wear with them. Two birds, one stone, because I set myself a goal of making more tops. I am a bit worried that there won’t be enough fabric, but I am sure I can try to squeaze it all in… also it is cotton, which is not listed in the recommended fabrics….

So there. It is out in the open. I’ve put them in separate bags, to make sure I wont use the material for anything else. Now to find some time to sew again! I even found a mini sewing machine at the back of my cupboard (I had to do a sort out; I had a few very unequally balanced towers in there which toppled over at the slightest touch, so that had to change!) so maybe 2015 is the year I teach myself the art of the sewing machine (even though it isn’t really a real one)

4 thoughts on “Future Projects!

  1. I’m glad I wasn’t really into sewing when I was at uni. I would never have passed!! I like sewchet’s idea, if you are self-disciplined enough to do it! I love that blue fabric! Can’t wait to see it but please tell me you’ve finished an assignment first 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

