Geeky Monthly Stitch December Challenge… a tad early!

I know, I know, it isn’t even close to the end of November. So I probably won’t be able to enter this into the Monthly Stitch December challenge, but I just needed to do some sewing, and I had the perfect material; the curtains I blogged about!

They are Whinnie the Pooh curtains, and although I never really was a fan of the big yellow bear, it was just too much of a perfect coincidence not to use them!

2014-10-25 17.30.35

As you can see, Whinnie and Piglet are watering and tending to their garden, which is rather sweet.

I used this pattern;

2014-10-30 10.10.50

and a 50p zip I bought from a charity shop back home, bringing this make to a grand total of £3.99, which is not too bad!

So, here are my photos; this is one I took mid construction; I the pattern I had was for a size 16, and I didn’t fancy cutting into the pattern pieces, so I stuck it on my mannequin and pinned the excess fabric;

2014-11-09 15.26.08

(excuse the awfulness that is this photo….)

I also didn’t have a 20 cm zipper, so used a smaller one (obviously)

2014-11-09 20.19.10(the left overs)

I also hemmed the skirt using bias tape! I have never used it before, and as I couldn’t be bothered to google a tutorial, I just folded it in half and sewed. (I know, I know, blasphemous, as I am pretty sure that is nottt how it works). I found some lovely gold sparkly bias tape in my ribbon stash, not sure when or how it got there as I have never intentionally bought any before… I thought the colour worked well with the fabric and reminded me of honey, which is what Winnie the Pooh loves… (I have just realised  that I haven’t a clue how he is spelt!! oops).

I also used the top of the curtain bit as my waistband, as the pattern called for some petersham, which after a quick google, am still none the wiser about. It sounds like stiff ribbon, and so the top of a curtain does the trick for me! I also added a hook and eye to the back, as it would have gaped other wise. I did change the style a little, as I think this skirt was supposed to have a side zipper, but I opted instead for a back one. There is a bit of weirdness going on at the bottom of the zip, which I will have to fix if I want to wear it out of the house. (And I do. I’m sure I can work that into my work wardrobe…)

WIN_20141109_201742

WIN_20141109_201747 WIN_20141109_201753

4 thoughts on “Geeky Monthly Stitch December Challenge… a tad early!

  1. Over here from reading your post on The Monthly Stitch. LOVE the skirt! Winnie the Pooh fabric – Sweeeet! and I love the top of the curtain at the waist too. Very funky! I really love the way the pattern works with the grain of the skirt too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

