Cat Lady Challenge

Hello Hello!

I have not yet finished unpacking my things at my new uni house, however I just wanted to share with you a really really exciting project I am going to be doing!

(Drum roll please)

Miss Crayola Creepy’s Cat Lady Sewing Challenge!

If you want to know more about it (or join) you can read the original post here.  But basically the the challenge is to make an item of clothing, using cat themed fabric.

I am so excited to do this, but I have waited until I found my fabric and pattern to actually join the flickr group and commit myself completely (not like I have uni work and unpacking to do….).

Finding cat fabric I liked was actually really hard, but I hit the jack pot in Oxfam the other day. Or rather, my Nana did, as she was the one who spotted it (and paid for it).

cat

Tadaa!

A duvet! Which shall hopefully be transformed into a dress! I have bought my pattern; and I think I shall do either view C or D. The cat will go onto the skirt I think!

I have a question for anyone who can answer; I am generally a size 12, but in vintage patterns I have found that I come up as a size 14. Is this pattern too old for me to be a 12 (does that make sense?)? I am hoping someone will be able to help me out as I would really love this dress to be wearable!

I am also hoping that my fabric will be acceptable (it better be, I have already washed it and unpicked the entire thing!) and that this project will be a fun one!

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Cat Lady Challenge

  1. I really like the look of that pattern and isn’t the cat cute!
    I have often read that you must go by the pattern’s sizing measurements, not your usual dress size, because they are different. And we will often be the larger size in older patterns because of how time has changed.
    I’m looking forward to seeing the dress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

